Arrowhead Girls Basketball Season Ends


Seth Ray and Jacoby Cefalu

On Saturday, February 20th, the Arrowhead Girls basketball team suffered a season ending 50-40 loss to Verona in the WIAA Sectional game. This was a heartbreaking loss for the girls team, as they were the top seed for this year’s WIAA girls basketball playoffs. 

Arrowhead teacher and girls basketball head Coach Rick Witte says, “Playoffs were great. Sectionals are not something we normally get to host but given the conditions this year with Covid, [the] higher seed got to host. We made it to the Elite 8 and lost in a good game in two overtimes.”

Witte says, “We did a lot of things well this year. I thought this group did a great job working to figure out their identity together. I couldn’t be more proud of a group.”

The Warhawks finished with a 21-6 record including a leading 13-3 conference record.  

Many athletes from the girl’s team won individual honors. Arrowhead had five all conference players, a conference player of the year, and two all state players. 

Phoebe Frentzel won “Co-Conference Player of the Year” along with first team all-state honors.

Sophomore Alaina Harper was first team all-conference and was an all-state honorable mention. 

Sophomore Bella Samz was second team all-conference.

Danielle Schleicher and Greta Hanson were all-conference honorable mentions.  

Coach Witte was named “Classic 8 Coach of the Year.”

Senior Jenna Erickson says, “We communicated well and played good offense and defense.”

Witte says the “plan for next year is to keep finding ways to improve both mentally and physically. I need to keep finding ways to become a better teacher of the game.”

Senior Allyson Davis says, “The team lost five seniors but the plan is to continue to put in work in the off-season to get us to where we want to be by the time the season starts.”

A few seniors will continue their careers in college. Frentzel, the “Co-Conference Player of The Year” will be continuing her basketball career at the University of St. Thomas in Minnesota and Erickson will continue playing at Ripon College in Wisconsin.