Exciting Start to Varsity Red Girls Lacrosse Season


Maraba Roznik

Varsity Red Roster

Katie Thurow, Reporter

According to the Arrowhead website, “AHS Girls Lacrosse is a member of  The Classic Eight Conference, which in turn is a member of the Wisconsin Lacrosse Federation (WLF).  In 2018  the Classic Eight Varsity teams will be: Arrowhead Red and White, Brookfield, Waukesha, Kettle Moraine, Oconomowoc, Mukwonago, Franklin, Kensoha, WNS (Whitefish Bay-Nicolet-Shorewood), University School of Milwaukee, DSHA (Divine Savior Holy Angels), Homestead and Cedarburg.  Most of these teams also have a JV team with the exception of Cedarburg and KM.  The new JV teams this year include Wauwatosa and Sussex Hamilton.”

Arroding the Arrowhead website, “Arrowhead Red Girls Lacrosse have won 8 state titles in 11 years, while winning the last 4 years consecutively.  Arrowhead Red has also won 10 Conference Championships over 11 years as well.”

Varsity Red player Jessica Surdyk says, “This year should be a fun season. Lacrosse takes a lot of time and work to maintain success. We’ve been practicing really hard, and trying to increase or stamina. I’m excited for the season to progress, and I’m excited for the future.”

According to MaxPreps, an online high school sport website, Arrowhead Varsity Red Girls Lacrosse has a 1-0 winning record so far this season. Their next game is Monday, April 16, at 7:00 p.m. against Kettle Moraine at Kettle Moraine High school.

Arrowhead Varsity Red Girls Lacrosse is coached by Tom Truttschel, he has been coaching for 9 years. Varsity red has two assistant coaches, Lee Bromberger and Sara Tuescher.

According to MaxPreps, girls varsity lacrosse had many winning streaks such as in 2009: a winning streak of 22 games, 2008: a winning streak of 10 games, and 2007: a winning streak of 10 games.

According to the Arrowhead Website, “To develop a positive environment where high school athletes learn and develop skills to play competitive lacrosse. Emphasis is placed on showing respect to individuals, teams, coaches, officials, and honoring all forms of athletic achievement. Players will develop confidence, good sportsmanship, and a love of sports which will enrich their lives for years to come. Conference play starts in April and ends in late May with playoffs.  Since 2007, Arrowhead has fielded two varsity and two junior varsity teams.  The number of teams will vary depending on the number of participating athletes and available coaches. We are always looking for parents interested in helping staffing the scoring table and more.”

Overall Arrowhead girls varsity lacrosse has a record of 186 wins and 48 losses. Previous to coach Truttschel the girls varsity lacrosse team was coached by Connie Tjarksen, and coach Tom Truttschel started coaching during the 2010-2011 season.